Professor Assyr Abdulle

Professor Assyr Abdulle

Director of the chair

assyr.abdulle AT
+41 21 693 03 11
MA C2 657

Director of the CSE Master

Biographical Statement

Assyr Abdulle is full Professor (“Professeur ordinaire”) of Mathematics at EPFL and holds the Chair of Computational Mathematics and Numerical Analysis (ANMC) at the Mathematics Institute of Computational Science and Engineering (MATHICSE). He obtained a professional degree in music and violin (Geneva Conservatory) in 1993 and earned his Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Geneva in 2001.

At EPFL he has been member of the permanent mathematics hiring  committee (2009-2018), the founding director of the Master in Computational Science and Engineering, director of the MATHICSE Institute (2016), member of the EPFL School of Basic Science direction (2016-2018), member of the School of Basic Science tenure committee (2011-2015) and the founding director of the Institute of Mathematics (2016-2018).

Previous Employment

  • Princeton University (Post-Doc 2001-2002)
  • ETH Zurich (Research Associate 2002-2003)
  • University of Basel (Assistant Professor in Mathematics 2003-2006)
  • University of Edinburgh (Lecturer (2007) and Associate Professor (2008))


Plenary talks at major international conferences

Other invited talk/plenary talks and international conferences and workshops

Editorial activities

  • Associate editor of Calcolo (2019-)
  • Associate editor of the Journal of Multiscale Modelling (2017- )
  • Associate editor of the Rendiconti del Circolo Matematico di Palermo (2017 – )
  • Associate editor of the Journal Scientific Computing (2015- )
  • Associate editor of the Journal of Elliptic and Parabolic Equation (2014- )
  • Associate editor of ESAIM: Mathematical Modeling and Numerical Analysis (2013- )
  • Associate editor of the SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing (2012- )
  • Associate editor of the Journal of Computational Mathematics (2007- )

Preprints and Publications

(click here for the list)

Recent published books and book chapters

Numerical Mathematics and Advanced applications – Enumath 2013. Proceedings of ENUMATH 2013, the 10th European Conference on Numerical Mathematics and Advanced Applications, Lausanne, 26-30 August, 2013. Edited by A. Abdulle, S. Deparis, D. Kressner, F. Nobile, M. Picasso.  Lecture Notes in Computational Science and Engineering, 103, Springer, 2015. XVI, 802 pp.

The heterogeneous multiscale method, Acta Numerica, A. Abdulle, W. E., B. Engquist and E. Vanden-Eijnden, 21, 2012. 1-87 pp

Professional activities

  • Member of the EPFL School Basic Science direction (2017- )
  • Member of the School of Basic Science tenure committee (2011 – )
  • Member of the permanent mathematics hiring committee at EPFL (2010 -2018 )
  • Co-Organiser of the 2013 Enumath conference
  • Director of the Master in Computational Science and Engineering at EPFL
  • Vice chair of SWICCOMAS
  • Member of the selection committee of the SIAM Wilkinson prize 2017
  • Chair of the IBM-EPFL Master prize in computational science
  • Member of the Scientific Committee ECCOMAS Congress 2016
  • Member of the core team of the ECCOMAS Committee on Computational and Applied Mathematics
  • SWICCOMAS representative
  • Member of the ECCOMAS Award Committee
  • Workshop organizer at the International Center of Mathematical Sciences (Adaptivity, robustness and complexity of multiscale algorithms 2009, with B. Engquist and A. Stuart, Edinburgh, UK).
  • SciCADE09 mini-symposium organizer: Stiff and multiscale problems (2009, with. P. Lin, Beijing, China)
  • Elected member of Edinburgh Mathematical Society, (since October 2007)
  • Member of the Editorial Board of Journal of Computational Mathematics (since 2007)
  • Member of the UK EPSRC College (since 2007)
  • Member of the Strategic research Committee, School of Mathematics, Edinburgh University (2007)
  • Member of the BTG (bridging the gap) group in Synthetic Biology (joint project with the Schools of Mathematics, Informatics, Engineering & Electronics, Biologicla Sciences, Physics and Chemistry, Edinburgh University (2007)
  • Organiser of the Maxwell Symposium on Computational Mathematics (2007-2008)