[email protected] Sept 2020

AerialPlanSB September2020
School of Basic Sciences – September 2020
New EPFL Vice-Presidencies approved

Prof. Hesthaven is the new Vice President for Academic Affairs

The search for a new SB Dean is starting

New Faculty – Promotions and Nominations

Oleg Yazyev
Oleg Yazyev – promoted to Associate Professor of Theoretical Physics – September 2020
Oleg Yazyev is one of the world’s leading researchers in condensed matter physics. He is particularly recognized for his studies on defects in graphene, as well as for the computational discovery of novel materials. His numerous articles in well-regarded publications have become standard works of references and his research has been awarded an ERC Starting Grant and the EPFL’s Latsis Prize. Oleg Yazyev is a highly creative researcher and a dedicated teacher and mentor.
Florent Krzakala
Florent Krzakala – Full Professor of Electrical Engineering/Electronics and of Physics – STI/SB September 2020
Florent Krzakala has employed his interdisciplinary approach to establish new areas of research at the intersection of mathematics, physics and computer science. He is a pioneer in the field of statistical physics applied to machine learning and to signal processing. In addition to establishing a research programme in these areas, this inter­nationally acclaimed researcher brings an extensive network of contacts that will benefit EPFL.
Lenka Zdeborova
Lenka Zdeborová – Associate Professor of Physics and of Computer Science and Communication Systems – SB/STI September 2020
Lenka Zdeborová is an internationally renowned researcher in the field of statistical physics who has won multiple awards, including an ERC Starting Grant in 2016. Her unparalleled expertise will make a significant contribution to the creation of new synergies with other research areas at EPFL, such as mathematics, materials science and information science, as well as with industry – and notably among leading IT companies.




Two EPFL scientists win quantum-research grants

Read more
9 September 2020

A step towards a better understanding of molecular dynamics

Read more
4 September 2020

Emmanuel Abbé part of team that wins deep-learning research award

Read more
25 August 2020

World’s largest nuclear fusion reactor ITER begins assembly phase

Read more
18 August 2020

Blood-thinner with no bleeding side-effects is here

Read more
4 August 2020

Ethics and AI: an unethical optimization principle

Read more
1 July 2020



2020 National Latsis Prize – Maryna Viazovska

“For her ground-breaking mathematical problem-solving.”

American Chemical Society – multiple awards to Marinella Mazzanti, Majed Chergui, Yimon Aye, Wendy Queen

“It’s been a great year for Chemistry in the EPF domain,” says Professor Lyndon Emsley, ISIC’s Director. Considering that only ten ACS awards went to scientists outside the USA, EPFL and ETHZ winning a total of five is pretty impressive.”
twitter website email