The Council is the body exercising participation rights in the sense of Art. 32 of the FIT Act (Federal Act on the Federal Institutes of Technology ruling the EPF). It provides comprehensive information to and ensures the participation of the Institute members. The Council expresses its opinion on strategic actions regarding the Institute’s research and planning that are submitted to its approval. The Council is the Institute’s body in charge of hearing proposals from Institute members (right to submit motions).


Next elections

The present term is ending on August 31st, 2022 and elections will soon be organised according to the following schedule to designate the new Council representatives:

  • Monday 16 May 2022: call for candidates
  • Friday 10 June 2022: deadline for candidate declaration
  • Friday 17 June 2022: publication of the lists of candidates
  • Friday 17 June 2022: opening of elections
  • Friday 24 June 2022: closing of elections
  • Wednesday 29 June 2022: communication of elections results
  • Thursday 1 September 2022: start of mandate of new representatives (mandate of 2 years)

To obtain more information about the IPHYS Council, you can consult the IPHYS organisation rules (section 4) or contact one of the present members of the Council (see below).



The present Council is composed of the following members:


Chair (Director of  IPHYS)

Henrik Rønnow


Representatives of teaching staff

Rafaël Butté

Jean-Philippe Hogge

Pascale Jablonka

Georges Wagnières


Representatives of scientific staff

Duncan Alexander

Marina Pivetta

Benoît Truc

Vacant seat


Representatives of administrative and technical staff

Julien Burnens

Nadja Dekumbis

Anh Eymann

Florent Wenger


Members ex officio

Olivier Schneider (Deputy Director of IPHYS)

Nicolas Grandjean ( Director of the Physics Section)

Frédéric Mila (Director of the Doctoral Program in Physics)

Blandine Jérôme (Scientific assistant, acting as Secretary)

Claire-Lyse Rouiller (Administrator)