ERC Starting Grant Mathias Payer
Caspar Bowden Award for Outstanding Research in Privacy Enhancing Technologies Karl Aberer, Hamza Harkous, and Rémi Lebret
SNSF Eccellenza Grant Mathias Payer
Polysphere IC Teaching Award 2019

Katerina Argyraki
ACM SIGGRAPH Significant New Researcher Award Wenzel Jakob
ACM SIGMOD Innovation Award Anastasia Ailamaki
SIGPLAN award Scala programming language
ERC Proof of Concept Grant Rachid Guerraoui
Chevalier de la Légion d’honneur Anne-Marie Kermarrec
2019 EDBT Test-of-Time Award Anastasia Ailamaki
Google Security and Privacy Research Award Carmela Troncoso
2019 Michael and Sheila Held Prize Ola Svensson
European Research Council (ERC) Starting GrantMichael Kapralov (2017)
Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and SciencesGiovanni de Micheli (2017)
European Research Council (ERC) Advanced GrantGiovanni De Micheli (2016)
European Design and Automation Association (EDAA) Lifetime Achievement AwardGiovanni De Micheli (2016)
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay Young Alumnus Achiever Award Nisheeth Vishnoi (2016)
European Research Council (ERC) Starting GrantKaterina Argyraki (2014)
Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T)Sabine Süsstrunk (Fellow, 2014)
Swiss ICT AwardMartin Odersky  (2014, Special Award)
European Research Council (ERC) Starting GrantOla Svensson (2013)
European Research Council (ERC) Consolidator GrantAnastasia Ailamaki (2013)
European Research Council (ERC) Advanced GrantRachid Guerraoui (2013)
IS&T/SPIE Electronic Imaging Scientist of the YearSabine Süsstrunk (2013)
European Research Council (ERC) Proof-of-Concept GrantPascal Fua (2012)
Association for Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)Boi Faltings (Fellow, 2012)
Swiss ICT AwardWilly Zwaenepoel (2012)
European Research Council (ERC) Starting GrantViktor Kuncak (2012)
European Research Council (ERC) Starting GrantsGeorge Candea (2011), Christoph Koch (2011), Matthias Seeger (2011)
European Research Council (ERC) Proof-of-Concept GrantAmin Shokrollahi (2011)
Members of the Academia EuropaeaPierre Dillenbourg (2011)
Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T)Giovanni De Micheli (Fellow, 2011)
Members of the Academia EuropaeaGiovanni De Micheli (2010)
European Research Council (ERC) Starting GrantsMichael Gastpar (2010), Mark Pauly (2010)
European Research Council (ERC) Advanced GrantsWulfram Gerstner (2010), Martin Odersky (2010)
International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR)Arjen Lenstra (Fellow, 2009)
ERC Starting GrantChristina Fragouli (2009)
European Research Council (ERC) Advanced GrantsGiovanni De Micheli (2009), Pascal Fua (2009), Martin Vetterli (2009)
European Research Council (ERC) Advanced GrantAmin Shokrollahi (2008)
Members of the Academia EuropaeaArjen Lenstra (2008), Willy Zwaenepoel (2008)
Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T) Professeur Honoraire Roger Hersch (Fellow, 2008)
European Research Council (ERC) Starting Grant, EurYIAnastasia Ailamaki (2007)
European Association for Signal Processing (EURASIP)Martin Vetterli (Fellow, 2007)


ACM Awards ACM Fellows
Edouard Bugnion,

Software System Award; Katerina Argyraki,

George Candea,

Eurosys Jochen Liedtke Young Researcher Award

Anne-Marie Kermarrec

Anastasia Ailamaki

Giovanni De Micheli

Babak Falsafi

Rachid Guerraoui

Jean-Pierre Hubaux

James Larus

Martin Odersky

Martin Vetterli

Willy Zwaenepoel


IEEE Medals IEEE Technical Field Awards
Martin Vetterli,

Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal; Amin Shokrollahi,

Rüdiger Urbanke,

Richard W. Hamming Medal

Giovanni De Micheli,

Emanuel R. Piore Award; Amin Shokrollahi,

Eric E. Sumner Award; Ruediger Urbanke,

Koji Kobayashi Award

IEEE Society awards IEEE Fellows
Sandro Carrara, Sensors Council Technical Achievement Award

Giovanni De Micheli,

Mac Van Valkenburg Award

Martin Vetterli,

Signal Processing Society Award

Willy Zwaenepoel,

Tsutomu Kanai Award

Anastasia Ailamaki

Sabine Süsstrunk

Michael Gastpar

Sandro Carrara

Giovanni De Micheli

Jean-D. Decotignie

Babak Falsafi

Pascal Fua

Jean-Pierre Hubaux

Jean-Yves Le Boudec

Bixio Rimoldi

Amin Shokrollahi

Emre Telatar

Patrick Thiran

Martin Vetterli

Willy Zwaenepoel


Best Paper Awards of the 30th
International Conference on Field-Programmable Logic and Applications
Stefan Nikolić
Timing-Driven Placement for FPGA Architectures with Dedicated Routing Paths. Stefan Nikolić (EPFL), Grace Zgheib (Intel Corporation), and Paolo Ienne (EPFL)
Eurographics PhD Thesis AwardMina Konakovic-Lukovic (PhD 2019)
Eurographics Young Researcher AwardDuygu Ceylan (PhD 2014)
IBM PhD FellowshipAtri Bhattacharyya
Applied Networking Research PrizeGeorgia Fragkouli, co-advised by Katerina Argyraki and Bryan Ford
IBM Q Best Paper Award (second prize)Frédéric Gessler, Chun Lam Chan and Nicolas Macris, with their co-authors from the Faculty of Basic Sciences, for their paper: “Bell Diagonal and Werner state generation: entanglement, non-locality, steering and discord on the IBM quantum computer“.
Best Paper Award at FPGA 2020 (ACM/SIGDA International Symposium on Field-Programmable Gate Arrays)Lana Josipović, Shabnam Sheikhh, Andrea Guerrieri, and Paolo Ienne, with co-author Jordi Cortadella from the Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, for their paper: “Buffer Placement and Sizing for High-Performance Dataflow Circuits”.
ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award 2019 (Mention Honorable) Jakub Tarnawski  (2019)
EPFL Prize for best Master’s average and ELCA Prize for best Master’s average in the Computer science section Guirec Maloisel
Swiss Informatics Society Prize for second best Master’s average in the Computer science sectionAdrian Valente
Dimitris N. Chorafas Foundation AwardJakub Tarnawski
EPFL Doctorate AwardRajai Nasser
Lopez-Loreta PrizeMarco Mondelli
Qualcomm FellowshipsKaicheng Yu and Mario Paulo Drumond
EuroSys PhD AwardManolis Karpathiotakis
Schmidt Science FellowshipMina Konaković-Luković
IBM PhD FellowshipMarios Kogias
Google PhD FellowshipAidasadat Mousavifar
Young Investigator Award (ICSS 2019)Roman Bachmann
ISSS Excellence AwardDamien Vizar (thesis advis. : Serge Vaudenay)
ELCA Prize for best Master’s average in the Computer science sectionMladen DimovskiMerit Prize
Merit PrizeLionel Fleury
SHS PrizeMike Bardet
SHS PrizeRomain Gehrig
SHS PrizeTim Nguyen
Prize for best average in a propaedeutic courseAlexandre Pinazza
Patrick Denantes Memorial PrizeAshkan Norouzi Fard
Swiss Informatics Society Prize for second best Master’s average in the Computer science section Dario Pavllo
EPFL Prize for best Master’s average and ELCA Prize for best Master’s average in the Computer science section  Xavier Fontaine
 EPFL Prize for second best Master’s average and Swiss Informatics Society Prize for second best Master’s average in the Computer science section Etienne Ferrier
 Kudelski Prize Thomas Mizraji
 Youth Prize Hugo Sbai
ELCA Prize for best Master’s average in the Computer science sectionMinh Khue Vu
Swiss Informatics Society Prize for second best Master’s average in the Computer science sectionRoger Küng
SHS PrizeAlexandre Sikiardis