SB@EPFL Dec 2022

SB@EPFL December 2022

View this email in your browser
AerialPlanSB September 2022
School of Basic Sciences – December 2022

New Faculty – Nominations

An image of...

At its meeting of 7-8 December 2022, the ETH Board has named three new Professors at the School of Basic Sciences (SB): Dr Laura Grigori as Full Professor, Dr Manuel Guizar-Sicairos as as Associate Professor and Dr Michael Herbst as Tenure-Track Assistant Professor.
Read more

Faculty Promotion

An image of...

At its meetings of 7-8 December 2022, the ETH Board promoted Prof. Kumar Agrawal to Associate Professor at the Faculty of Basic Sciences (SB).
Read more

New SB Directors

During the past year there have been some changes at the SB sections:
  • 1 August 2022: Prof. Cécile Hebert became the new Section of Physics (SPH) Director
  • 1 September 2022: Prof. Jéremy Luterbacher took the new mandate as Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Section (SCGC) Director,
And starting this year, on January 1,
  • Prof. Maryna Viazovska has been appointed new Director of the Institute of Mathematics (MATH), and
  • Prof. Kevin Sivula is the new (ad-interim, during the six month parental leave of Prof. N. Cramer) Director of the Institute of Chemical Sciences and Engineering (ISIC).
We would like to express our appreciation for the work accomplished by Profs N. Grandjean, J. Zhu, V. Panaretos and N. Cramer and warmly welcome those newly appointed.

New SB Steering Committee

Following these changes, the new SB Steering Committee from January 1 2023 is

Direction SB:

Prof. Paul Joseph Dyson (Dean)
Prof. Cécile Hébert (SPH)
Prof. Joachim Krieger (SMA)
Prof. Jéremy Luterbacher (SCGC)
Prof. Henrik M. Rønnow (IPHYS)
Prof. Kevin Sivula (ISIC)
Prof. Maryna Viazovska (MATH)

Nomination to the EPFL Vice Presidency

Congratulations to Prof. Annalisa Buffa who has been appointed new Associate Vice President for Postgraduate Education from 1 February 2023.

New Chair of the SB CEA

Prof. Nicolas Grandjean will become the new Chair of the SB CEA (Comité d’Evaluation Académique).



Improving the operational stability of perovskite solar cells

Read more
27 Dec 2022


Lepton universality restored ………………………… …………………..

Read more
20 Dec 2022


Photonics chip allows light amplification ………………….. ……………

Read more
1 Dec 2022


Tackling the high-voltage needs of next-gen satellites

Read more
2 Nov 2022


Machine learning predicts heat capacities of MOFs …………………..

Read more
18 Oct 2022


Stabilizing polarons opens up new physics …………………..

Read more
7 Oct 2022

Awards and Grants

Prof. Hubet Girault receives the ccCTA 2022 Award
Prof. Hubert Girault receives ccCTA 2022 Award for all of his significant contributions in the field of analytical chemistry and toxicology for the scientific community of Western Switzerland.

Prof. Maryna Viazovska included in BBC’s “100 Women 2022” list
Prof. Maryna Viazovska has been included in the BBC’s “100 Women” for 2022, a list that includes the most influential women of the year in the categories of “Politics & Education”, “Culture & Sport”, Activism & Advocacy”, and “Health & Science”.

Three SB Professors receive SNSF Starting Grants
Profs Victor Gorbenko, Florian Richter, and Mats Stensrud at EPFL’s School of Basic Sciences have received Starting Grants from the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Prof. Jan Hestaven named AMS Fellow
Prof. Jan Hestaven has been elected Fellow of the American Mathematical Society.

Five SB Researchers in Clarivate’s 2022 Highly Cited Researchers
Profs Michael Graetzel, Xile Hu, Tobias J. Kippenberg, and Drs Yuhang Liu and Shaik Mohammed Zakeeruddin.

Prof. Fabrizio Carbone elected APS Fellow
Prof. Fabrizio Carbone has been elected Fellow of the American Physical Society.

custom custom custom