Group members

Prof. Ambrogio Fasoli
EPFL cardAmbrogio FASOLI was born on November 10, 1964, in Milano, Italy.
After a classical high school diploma (‘Maturità Classica’) and graduation from the University of Milano, with the degree of ‘Dottore in Fisica’, he obtained his Phd at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale (EPFL) with a thesis on chaos in wave-particle interactions in plasmas, which was awarded the Best EPFL Thesis prize, in 1993.
He then moved to the JET Joint Undertaking, the largest world’s fusion device, near Oxford, UK, to investigate Alfvén waves and burning plasma physics.
In 1995-1996 he took a sabbatical leave, visiting several Universities and Research Institutes in Europe and in the USA, including three months at General Atomics in San Diego.
In 1996-1997, during a second period at JET, he participated in the fusion power world’s record experiments in Deuterium-Tritium plasmas at JET.
In 1997 he was nominated Assistant Professor in MIT Physics Department, where he led a basic plasma physics group and the international collaboration between MIT and JET.
In 2001 Ambrogio FASOLI was nominated Assistant Professor of Physics at EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland, and Professeur Boursier of the Swiss National Science Foundation. He became member of CRPP Directorate and took the leadership of CRPP basic plasma physics group and of the TCV tokamak, one of the major fusion experiments worldwide. At European level he was scientific coordinator for JET experiments, spokesperson for multi-machine experiments in the frame of International Tokamak Physics Activities, and Project Leader for a JET Enhancement project. In 2005 he became Associate Professor of Physics with tenure at EPFL, then member of EFDA Science and Technology Advisory Committee, and of the Steering Committee of the Association EURATOM-Swiss Confederation.
From 2006 he was also Deputy Director, then from 2007 Executive Director of CRPP and from 2008 Full Professor of Physics at EPFL. He is member of EFDA Steering Committee, chair of the FuseNet Academic Council, Associate Editor for the Journal of Plasma Physics, Member of the Editorial Board of Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion, Member of the Scientific Board of the Helmotz Virtual Institute on Advanced Microwave Diagnostics, Member of the European Delegation for the Cooperation between Euratom and the Government of India in Fusion Energy Research, and participates to numerous international review panels.
He is also Chair of the EPFL Physics Strategic Committee and a member of the Directorate of the EPFL School of Sciences. He is the Editor-in-Chief of the IAEA journal Nuclear Fusion.
Since the summer of 2014 Professor FASOLI is the sole Director of CRPP.Professor FASOLI is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and since 2001 a Visiting Professor at MIT Physics Department..


Prof. Ivo Furno
EPFL card
Prof. Paolo Ricci
EPFL card

Paolo Ricci earned his master’s degree in nuclear engineering at the Politecnico di Torino, Turin (Italy). His doctoral studies were conducted at the Los Alamos National Laboratory, with focus on kinetic simulation of magnetic reconnection in the Earth’s magnetotail. He spent two-and-a-half years as a postdoctoral researcher at Dartmouth College’s Department of Physics and Astronomy, where he worked on gyrokinetic simulations of the Z pinch. In 2006, he joined the SPC as a EURATOM fellow, and was named Tenure Track Assistant Professor in June 2010, and Associate Professor in August 2016.  He is at the head of the SPC theory group. Paolo Ricci is the recipient of the 2016 Teaching Prize of the EPFL Section de Physique.

  Marcelo Baquero Ruiz, Scientist
EPFL card
  Fabian Manke, PhD student
EPFL card

Oulfa Chellai, PhD student
EPFL card