Prof. Anderson Rocha

“AI-driven synthetic realities and trust: implications for the media and our society”

 Wednesday July 12, 2023 | 2:00-3:15pm CEST

EPFL Campus: Room : Room BC 420 + Zoom


Join us on July 12 for an insightful event co-hosted by the CIS, C4DT, and IMI, featuring a talk by visiting professor Anderson Rocha from Unicamp, Brazil on “AI-driven synthetic realities and trust: implications for the media and our society”. This thought-provoking lecture, followed by a panel with EPFL Professor Touradj Ebrahimi and moderated by Gilles Labarthe journalist and researcher, will shed light on the crucial role of trust in navigating the intersection of AI and synthetic realities, making it a must-attend event for anyone interested in the future of technology and its impact on society/media.

CIS Logo C4DT Logo IMI Logo


In this talk, we will discuss how our society is living what is being referred to as Synthetic Realities. We will touch upon important technologies shaping these new realities such as ChatGPT, Midjourney, Dall-E2, StableDiffusion, and others. More importantly, we will discuss what kinds of telltales can be explored to expose such creations or forgeries and pinpoint the research challenges ahead and implications of such fakes to the society at large. Finally, we will touch upon implications regarding trust, and impacts on media and the society-at-large when dealing with such new realities. 


Anderson Rocha is a full-professor for Artificial Intelligence and Digital Forensics at the Institute of Computing, University of Campinas (Unicamp), Brazil. He is the Director of the Artificial Intelligence Lab.,, and was the Director of the Institute of Computing for the 2019-2023 term. He is an elected affiliate member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences (ABC) and the Brazilian Academy of Forensic Sciences (ABC). He is a two-term elected member of the IEEE Information Forensics and Security Technical Committee (IFS-TC) and its chair for the 2019-2020 term. He is a Microsoft Research and a Google Research Faculty Fellow. In addition, in 2016, he was awarded the Tan Chin Tuan (TCT) Fellowship, a recognition promoted by the Tan Chin Tuan Foundation in Singapore. Finally, he is ranked Top-2% among the most influential scientists worldwide, according to recent studies from and Stanford/PlosOne.

Touradj Ebrahimi is a professor at EPFL and head of the Multimedia Signal Processing Group. Since 2014, he is the Convenor (Chairman) of the JPEG standardization committee under the auspices of ISO, IEC and ITU. His research activities include visual information compression, media security and multimedia quality of experience assessment. He is a Fellow of IEEE and SPIE, and was recently awarded the IEEE Star Innovator Award in Multimedia. On behalf of JPEG, he received a Primetime Emmy Engineering Award from the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.


Gilles Labarthe is a Swiss journalist, reporter and anthropologist (PhD, Journalism & Media Studies, University of Neuchâtel). He has been working as a trainer and researcher since 2007. He teaches in master classes: investigative journalism methods, ethics, media literacy, freedom of information and transparency laws (Academy of Journalism & Media, University of Neuchâtel, 2014-2016; University of Media & Human Rights, Geneva, since 2018). As a scientific collaborator, he has contributed to national and regional research programs focusing on journalistic practices and professionalism (University of Geneva, 2007 and 2017; University of Neuchâtel, 2013-2016). He recently led a study on ongoing projects to promote information of public interest in Swiss media (University of Fribourg, 2021). His PhD thesis was published in 2020: Conducting the investigation. Skills, strategies and tactics of journalists (Mener l’enquête. Arts de faire, stratégies et tactiques d’investigation de journalistes, ed. Antipoden, Lausanne). He is also involved in professional organizations such as Impressum (Swiss Federation of Journalists, committee member) and JournaFonds (Pacte de l’enquête, vice-president).