Minors and specializations

A Specialization consists of a set of courses allowing students to gain deep knowledge in a specific sub-domain of their discipline (Major). A specialization requires obtaining 30 ECTS credits during the period of the Master’s studies.

A Minor consists of a group of compulsory or optional courses offered by one or several sections (disciplines). Disciplinary and transdisciplinary Minors are designed to add flexibility and depth in the education of future engineers. Interdisciplinary Minors either tackle a multidisciplinary topic or offer complementary education to the classical engineering curriculum, thus opening up educational and career prospects.

Every educational domain offers a Disciplinary Minor to students of the other disciplines. Students have the option to include one of these Minors in their curriculum.

A list of all Minors, mentioning whether or not they are recommended or authorized by the student’s section, is located on the page Minors.

A total of 30 ECTS credits must be earned during the anticipated study period to complete a Minor.

  • Architecture
  • Civil engineering
  • Environmental sciences and engineering
  • Mechanical engineering
  • Microengineering
  • Materials science and engineering
  • Electrical and electronic engineering
  • Communication systems
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Chemistry and chemical engineering
  • Life sciences engineering
  • Financial engineering
  • Cyber security
  • Data science
  • Computer science

* Specialisations and Minors are duly mentioned in the Diploma Supplement