Each year, prizes award outstanding performances of Civil Engineering students.
Some of the prizes below need an application from the candidates.
Please remember to take note of the application deadline that is set on mid august.

The CITEC prize rewards a Master student in Civil Engineering of EPFL who has demonstrated excellence in a master project in the filed of transportation or mobility.
Formulaire à joindre à votre candidature en ligne : Formulaire-Prix-Citec-Mobility-Solutions

Montant : CHF 1’500

Règlement Prix CITEC

This prize rewards a Master student in Civil Engineering of EPFL who has demonstrated excellence in a master project with specialization in Structural Engineering.

A student can only apply to two Prizes awarded by a Jury.

Each applicant must provide:

  1. A letter of motivation from the candidate (1 page) which is an integral part of the selection criteria by the selection board.
  2. The full report card for the master cycle.
  3. An executive summary (5 to 10 pages maximum in English).
  4. A poster of your project.
  5. A letter from the Director of the PDM, sent directly by him/her to the secretariat of the Civil Engineering Section, certifying that the work corresponds to the spirit and regulations of the Prize.

These documents must be submitted to the secretariat of the Civil Engineering Section.

Amount : CHF 1’000

Prix Sarada M. et Raju A. Vinnakota – Réglement.pdf

This prize was created by the ex-students of Professor Alfred Stucky in 1947. It is supported by STUCKY Ltd, engineering consultant in the fields of hydraulic structures and energy. It rewards a project of Master in civil engineering, which is outstanding for its originality and feasibility.

A student cannot apply for more than two prizes which are decided on by jury.

S/he must apply to the secretariat of the Civil Engineering section.

The candidature comprises of :

  1. An application letter, counter-signed by the Master project director who will certify that the Master project work corresponds to the nature and rules of the prize.
  2. A .pdf copy of the Master project
  3. As soon as the oral exam is over, the Master project director must send to the Academic Registrar’s Office a report on the project (one page maximum) mentionning the mark obtained at the exam.
  4. the declaration of the application for two prizes maximum

The section takes good receipt of the application files, transfers them to the Committee who will communicate the name of the laureate to the Academic Affairs department.

Amount: CHF 3’000

Règlement Stucky.pdf

This prize rewards a Project of Master developing the following : hydropower, tunnels or work below grounds. The candidates are proposed by the Master projects directors. The prize is normally awarded annually.

Amount: CHF 2’000 (CHF 4’000 including ETHZ)

Règlement IM.pdf

This prize is intended to reward up to two students from the Civil Engineering section who have obtained a grade equal to or higher than 5.5 for their master of project, when co-supervised by two separate laboratories affiliated to the Institute of Civil Engineering – IIC. A jury deliberates on the basis of the results transmitted by the section of Civil Engineering at the end of the academic year.
No appeal is possible. This award is presented by the section during the graduation ceremony.

Amount: CHF 1’000

IIC award regulations.pdf

The prize is awarded to a master project in the area of earthquake engineering or structural dynamics. The candidates are nominated by the supervisor of their master project.

Règlement SGEB.pdf

Amount: CHF 2’000

No registration

Three prizes are offered:

  • One of the awards is the best grade at one of the master programs of the ENAC faculty (architects are excluded)
  • One of them rewards the best master project in Civil Engineering that stands out by its excellence. The candidates are proposed to the SIA Vaud by the directors of the master projects, with the authorization of the concerned students. The Master’s thesis need to have been graded with a minimum of 5.5 and stand out by their original, innovative and pragmatic dimension, in line with the constraints of sustainability.

Amount: CHF 1’000 for the project of Master prize  – CHF 500 for the best grade prize

Règlement SIA Vaud

No registration

This prize rewards the best average for complete Master studies at EPFL in the section of Civil Engineering.

Amount: CHF 1’000


No registration



Sustainability and Environment Awards

(not managed by the GC Section)

Each year, ARPEA awards prizes for an outstanding bachelor’s thesis carried out among the Hautes Écoles Spécialisées de la HES-SO (HES) in French-speaking Switzerland (HEIA-FR, HEIG-VD, HEPIA-GE, etc.), and prizes for an outstanding master’s thesis carried out among the Hautes Écoles in French-speaking Switzerland (HES-SO, EPFL, UNIFR, UNIGE, UNIL, UNINE) in one of the Association’s fields of activity (see art. 2).

The prizes are reserved for works dealing with one or more themes directly related to the objectives and activities of the ARPEA, in particular

Water protection
Protection of the air
Protection of the natural environment
Soil protection
Remediation of contaminated sites
Waste management
Sustainable development
Renewable energy in relation to environmental protection

Regulations of the ARPEA Prize – François Lancoud – François Lancoud

The Durabilis Award (former OUI-DD contest), launched in 2007, is awarded to projects with an approach that integrates the dimensions of sustainable development, namely: the environment, society and the economy. The Durabilis Award is supported by the Vice-Presidency for Responsible Transformation (VPT), by the Rectorate of the University of Lausanne, and by the town of St Sulpice