EDIC Patrick Denantes Memorial Prize

Sai Praneeth Karimireddy awarded with 2022 Patrick Denantes Memorial Prize

Read more

This prize was created in 2010 to honor the memory of Patrick Denantes, a doctoral student in Communication Systems at EPFL, who tragically died in a climbing accident on July 12, 2009.

The Patrick Denantes Memorial Prize is attributed once a year to the author of an outstanding doctoral thesis from the School of Computer and Communication Sciences.

The prize is awarded by a jury and presented to the laureate at the School’s end-of-year event. Financial sponsorship is provided by the Denantes family and the Nokia Research Center.

>> Application Procedure & Bylaws [pdf]


Year Laureate Thesis Title Thesis Director(s)
2022 Sai Praneeth Karimireddy Optimization methods for collaborative learning Martin Jaggi
2021 Lana Josipović High-Level Synthesis of Dynamically Scheduled Circuits Paolo Ienne
2020 Cong Wang Inverse Problems and Optimal Power Flow in Active Distribution Networks Jean-Yves Le Boudec
2019 Mina Konaković-Luković Computational Design of Auxetic Shells Mark Pauly
2018 Ashkan Norouzi Fard Algorithms for Clustering Problems Theoretical Guarantees and Empirical Evaluations Ola Svensson
2017 Marco Mondelli From Polar to Reed-Muller Codes: Unified Scaling, Non-standard Channels, and a Proven Conjecture Rüdiger Urbanke
2016 Baris Kasikci Techniques for Detection, Root Cause Diagnosis, and Classification of In-Production Concurrency Bugs George Candea
2015 Ivan Dokmanic Listening to Distances and Hearing Shapes: Inverse Problems in Room Acoustics and Beyond Martin Vetterli
2015 Honour. Mention Sofien Bouaziz Realtime Face Tracking and Animation Mark Pauly
2014 Juri Ranieri Sensing the Real World: Inverse Problems, Sparsity and Sensor Placement Martin Vetterli; Amina Chebira
2013 Amin Karbasi Graph-Based Information Processing: Scaling Laws and Applications Rüdiger UrbankeMartin Vetterli
2012 Ruzika Piskac Decision Procedures for Program Synthesis and Verification Viktor Kuncak
2011 Ajay K. Verma Pre-Synthesis Optimization of Arithmetic Circuits Paolo Ienne
2010 Mahdi Cheraghchi Applications of Derandomization Theory in Coding Amin Shokrollahi