Alice Cortinovis (ANCHP) was awarded the SWICCOMAS prize 2023 for her thesis on Fast deterministic and randomized algorithms for low-rank approximation, matrix functions, and trace estimation.


The Association for Women in Mathematics and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics have selected EPFL mathematician Annalisa Buffa to deliver the 2023 Sonia Kovalevsky lecture.


Prof. Daniel Kressner, EPFL, is being recognized for contributions in numerical linear and multilinear algebra and scientific computing.

Prof. Nicolas Boumal, head of the Chair of Countinuous Optimization (OPTIM), received the grant for his project GEOSYM, with title “Harnessing Geometry and Symmetry in Optimization for Data Science”.

The next Swiss Numerics Day will be held in person at EPFL on September 13, 2021. Plenary speakers will be Paola Antonietti and Tony Lelievre. Don’t miss it. We look forward to welcome you here.

Fabian Mönkeberg receives the Mathematics Doctoral thesis Award (MDTA) for his thesis “High-order essentially nonoscillatory methods based on radial basis functions” as the best PhD thesis in mathematics in A.Y. 2019-20.

2020 SIAM Student Chapter Certificate of Recognition acknowledges Luca Coradello for exceptional service to the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne chapter during the 2019-2020 academic year.

The John Butcher Prize in Numerical Analysis was established to recognize John Butcher’s long and productive career in numerical analysis, and in particular in the numerical solution of ordinary differential equations. In keeping with John’s consistent encouragement of students, the award is for the best student talk at SciCADE. In particular, considering both the academic merit of the content and the presentation itself.

Prof. Annalisa Buffa awarded the ERG Advanced Grant CHANGE, “New CHallenges for (adaptive) PDE solvers: the interplay of ANalysis and Geometry”. Host Institution: Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL). Addition Beneficiaries: Consiglio Nazionale Della Ricerche Istituto di Matematica Applicata e Technologie Informatiche “E. Magenes” (CNR-IMATI); Universitat Linz Johannes Kepler University (JKU-LINZ); Oesterreichische Akademie des Wissenschaften Johann Radon Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics (RICAM)

Dr. Diane Guignard, member of the Chair of Scientific Computing and Uncertainty Quantification and the Group Picasso, Institute of Mathematics, EPFL, has been awarded the ECCOMAS Award for for one of the two best PhD Theses in 2016, for her PhD Thesis entitled “A posteriori error estimation for partial differential equations with random input data” (EPFL thesis #7260, 2016). The European Community on Computational Methods in Applied Sciences (ECCOMAS) attributes the award to highlight outstanding achievements of two young persons at the start of their scientific careers; the awards will be handed over at the ECCOMAS Young Investigator Conference – YIC 2017, Milan, Italy, September 13 – 15. PPP Many congratulations to Diane!