© 2022 EPFL

SAIS Prize 2022 to Oliviero Cannelli

— SAIS Prize 2022 for the thesis “Photo- and thermally-induced electronic and structural dynamics in perovskites and transition metal oxides.”

Artist's impression of a time-resolved circular dichroism measurement of a photoexcited spin-crossover complex. Credit: Ella Maru Studio, Inc.

Tracking chirality in real time

— Scientists at EPFL have developed a new laser-based technique that can measure ultrafast changes in the structural symmetry of molecules, called chirality, tracking their conformational shifts in real time. In a collaboration with researchers from the Universities of Geneva and Pisa, the breakthrough resolves a long-standing issue on how an important class of metal complexes switch their magnetic properties when triggered by a flash of light, and can have implications for magnetic data storage applications.

© 2022 EPFL

Jérémy Rouxel wins the FELs of Europe Award 2022

— During his work at EPFL Jérémy Rouxel contributed to the first demonstration of ultrafast hard X-ray transient grating spectroscopy. The extension of this methods to this photon energy range, recently available at the hard X-ray free electron lasers such as SwissFEL, will provide a unique microscopic tool to address for the first time transport phenomena at the nanoscale in materials with element-selectivity.

© 2022 EPFL

ICO/IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics 2021 to Giulia F. Mancini

— Giulia Fulvia Mancini wins the 2021 Young Scientist Prize in Optics for her “contributions to imaging and scattering of nanostructured materials using high- harmonic soft X-ray sources and research on extreme ultraviolet imaging"

© 2021 EPFL

The 2021 Ernst Haage Award to Rebeca Gomez Castillo

— Ernst Haage PhD Award 2021 for outstanding research achievements in chemistry.

All news