ISUS 2018

ISUS 2018, November 28-30, 2018, Lausanne, Switzerland

The landscape in Ultrafast Science has dramatically evolved in the past 10-15 years. In addition to large scale installations such as Free electron lasers, several major developments have been achieved with table-top laser systems, being for generating pulsed radiation spanning from the Terahertz (THz) to the X-ray range or for generating ultrashort pulses of electrons. Most important, these technological developments have allowed new methods to be implemented and/or significantly improved. These developments are accompanied by no less dramatic ones in the field of theoretical concepts and modellings. The field of Ultrafast Science is witnessing a new era and there is not a year in which some new methods or new scientific breakthroughs are achieved. The purpose of the symposium is to gather the top specialists in the field of Ultrafast Science, who are pioneers in the development of new methods but those who applied them to solve crucial scientific questions in Chemistry, Biology, Condensed Matter Physics and Materials Science.

The Local Organisers are delighted to invite you to the “International Symposium on Ultrafast Science: From the infrared to the X-rays” to be held in Lausanne, November 28-30, 2018, at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale of Lausanne, Switzerland.

We look forward to welcoming you in Lausanne on this occasion.

Confirmed invited speakers :

J. Dubochet (Université de Lausanne, Switzerland) 2017 Chemistry Nobel Laureate
E. Baldini (MIT, Boston, USA)
C. Bressler (European XFEL, Hamburg, Germany)
F. Carbone (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
C. Daniel (University of Strasbourg, France)
Th. Elsaesser (MBI, Berlin, Germany)
T. Feurer (University of Bern, Switzerland)
S. Haacke (University of Strasbourg, France)
J. Helbing (University of Zürich, Switzerland)
J. Hynes (University of Colorado-Boulder, USA and Ecole Normale Supérieure, France)
J. Marangos (Imperial College London, UK)
Ch. Milne (PSI, Villigen, Switzerland)
S. Mukamel (University of California, Irvine, USA)
M. Murnane (University of Colorado-Boulder, USA)
L. Patthey (PSI, Villigen, Switzerland)
T. Penfold (Newcastle University, UK)
A. Rubio (Max-Planck-Institute, Hamburg, Germany)
A. Stolow (University of Ottawa, Canada)
M. Wolf (Fritz-Haber-Institute, Berlin, Germany)

Furthermore information here