Support and Honours

We acknowledge the following funding bodies that support(ed) our multidisciplinary research and educational activities (since lab began mid-2012):

  • 2024:  Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) SPARK Funding
  • 2023-2027:  Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) Project Funding
  • 2023-2028: European Research Council (ERC) Consolidator Grant (funded via SERI, Switzerland)
  • 2023: Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) R’Equip Instrumentation Grant
  • 2022-2024: EPFL Technology Advancement Funding
  • 2021-2025: Swiss Cancer League / Swiss Cancer Foundation
  • 2021-2023: Novartis Freenovation Award Funding
  • 2021-2022: SB Intrafaculty seed funding
  • 2020-2024: Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) SPIRIT Funding
  • 2021-2023: EPFL-Interdisciplinary Research Funding
  • 2021-2023: EPFL-KGJF Funding for research in nutrition & metabolism
  • 2019-2020: Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) SPARK Pilot Funding Scheme (for a new project within the realms of our electrophile signaling research program)
  • 2019: Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) Scientific Exchange (for 2020 NCCR Chemical Biology International Symposium)
  • 2019-2023: Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) Project Funding (for our electrophile signaling research)
  • 2019-2020: Novartis Foundation for medical-biological Research
  • 2018-2022: Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR): Chemical Biology (Phase III), Switzerland
  • 2018-present: Merck Research Laboratories
  • 2018-present: Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne (EPFL)
  • 2017-2018: The Pershing Square Sohn Cancer Research Alliance through a Pershing Square Sohn Young Investigator in Cancer Research Prize
  • 2017-2018: U.S. Department of the Navy – The Office of Naval Research (ONR) Young Investigator Program (YIP) award
  • 2016-2018: Alfred P. Sloan Foundation through a Sloan Fellowship award
  • 2015-2016: Burroughs Wellcome Fund through a collaborative research travel grant award
  • 2015-2018: National Science Foundation – MRI instrumentation grant award (to the university/community)
  • 2014-2018: National Institutes of Health – Office of the Director through a New Innovator award
  • 2014-2018: National Science Foundation – Directorate for Mathematical & Physical Sciences through an NSF CAREER award
  • 2014-2018: Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation through a Beckman Young Investigator award
  • 2014-2015: Cornell University & Weill Cornell Medicine through junior faculty lab start-up funds and an intercampus seed grant, and
  • 2012-2013: Milstein Foundation through a Howard Milstein Sesquicentennial Fellowship award

The following Foundations/Award Programs are gratefully acknowledged for fellowships and awards in honor of PI and her team members:

Awards (PI) (during PI’s independent career only):

  • 2022 European Research Council Consolidator Grant Award
  • 2022 Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award in Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2021 International Chemical Biology Society (ICBS) Global Lectureship Award
  • 2021 American Chemical Society (ACS) Cope Scholars Award
  • 2020 Hermann Esterbauer Memorial Award
  • 2020 European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) Award for Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia
  • 2020 American Chemical Society (ACS) Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry
  • 2017 ACS Buck Whitney Award
  • 2017 US Office of Naval Research (ONR) Young Investigator
  • 2017 Pershing Square Sohn Young Investigator in Cancer Research Prize
  • 2016 Sloan Fellowship
  • 2016 International Chemical Biology Society (ICBS) Rising Star Chemical Biologist Award, sponsored by ACS Chemical Biology
  • 2016 ACS Women Chemists Committee (WCC) Rising Star Chemist Award
  • 2016 ACS Chemical Research in Toxicology (CRT) Young Investigator Award
  • 2015 Burroughs Wellcome Fund award
  • 2014 US National Institutes of Health (NIH) Director’s New Innovator award
  • 2014 US National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER award
  • 2014 Beckman Young Investigator award, Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation

Recognition (team members: doctoral, postdoctoral, and master-enhancement research interns):

Fellowships External to Cornell/EPFL

  • 2021 K99/R00 National Institutes of Health Pathway to Independence Fellowship (to Saba Parvez)
  • 2017 American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship Program (to Jesse Poganik)
  • 2016, 2017 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program (to Daniel Urul and Alexandra Van Hall-Beauvais)
  • 2013, 2015 National Institutes of Health – Chemistry and Biology Interface Training Program (to Jesse Poganik and Joe Haegele)
  • 2015 Howard Hughes Medical Institute – International Predoctoral Fellowship Program (to Saba Parvez), and
  • 2014 Ananda Mahidol Foundation (to Sine Wisitpitthaya, 2012 Fall – 2017 Spring)

Awards External to Cornell/EPFL

  • 2023 Imperial College London Presidential PhD schlolarship (to Naura Antariksa)
  • 2019 PSL International Chemical Biology Symposium Institute Curie, Poster Award in Organic and Biological Chemistry (to Dr. Xuyu Liu)
  • 2016 Fall ACS National Meeting Travel Award (to Saba Parvez)
  • 2015 ASBMB National Meeting Theme Poster Award (to Joe Haegele)

Awards within Cornell/EPFL

  • 2023 Teaching Assistants Excellence Award – to Alex Gao and Pierre Miranda
  • 2021 NCCR Chemical Biology – best master thesis award (to Pierre Miranda)
  • 2020 NCCR Chemical Biology – best master thesis award (to Jinmin Liu)
  • 2017 Tunis Wentick Award (to Saba Parvez)
  • 2016, 2018 Bauer Award (to Joe Haegele and Jesse Poganik)
  • 2014, 2017 Covestro Teaching Excellence Award (to Sine Wisitpitthaya and Alexandra Van Hall-Beauvais)

The following fellowship and award programs are acknowledged for supporting the Aye lab’s undergraduate researchers:

  • 2022 – Think Swiss Scholarship (to Tony Hu, exchange summer student from University of Toronto)
  • 2017 – the Morris Undergraduate Summer Research Fellowship (to Paul Huang, Cornell Chemistry ’18)
  • 2017 – NSF GRFP Fellowship (for upcoming graduate studies) (to Vanha Pham, Cornell Chemistry ’17)
  • 2017 – the ASBMB National Meeting Undergraduate Competitive Travel Award (to Sanjna Surya, Cornell Biology ’18)
  • 2017 – the Leo and Berdie Mandelkern Prize, Cornell University (to Vanha Pham, Cornell Chemistry ’17)
  • 2017 – the George C. Caldwell Prize, Cornell University (to Shiv Chawla, Cornell Chemistry ’17)
  • 2016 – the ASBMB National Meeting Theme Poster Award (to Vanha Pham, Cornell Chemistry ’17)
  • 2016 – the ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) program (to Shiv Chawla, Cornell Chemistry and Biology ’17)
  • 2013, 2016 – the Hill Undergraduate Summer Research Fellowship (to William Blessing, Cornell Engineering ’14; Sanjna Surya, Cornell Biology ’18)
  • 2016 – the Barry Goldwater Scholarship (to Shiv Chawla, Cornell Chemistry and Biology ’17)
  • 2014 – the Cornell P3 Pre-professional Scholarship (to Dustin Lee, Cornell Chemistry ’15)
  • 2014, 2017 – the Douglas Undergraduate Summer Research Fellowship (to Vanha Pham, Cornell Chemistry ’17; Lining Zheng, Cornell Chemistry ’18)
  • 2014 – the DAAD RISE Scholarship of German Exchange Program (to Prabudhya Bhattacharyya, Cornell Physics and Mathematics ’16)
  • 2016 – the Amgen Summer Scholar Fellowship (to Vanha Pham, Cornell Chemistry ’17)
  • 2016 – the Harold Adlard Lovenberg Prize (to Shiv Chawla, Cornell Chemistry ’17)
  • 2015 – the Hypercube Scholar Award (to Gene Hu, Cornell Chemistry ’15)
  • 2013, 2015, 2016, 2018 – the ACS Cornell Section Undergraduate Research Award (to Eva Ge, Cornell Chemistry ’13; Dustin Lee, Cornell Chemistry ’15; Michael Disare, Cornell Chemistry ’17; and Paul Huang, Cornell Chemistry and Biology ’18)

We are most grateful for all of the support.