EDMA Awards laureates

Mathematics Doctoral Thesis Award
EPFL Doctorate Award
2019 : Hélène Ruffieux 2014 : Raphaël Huser
2018 : Dimitri Wyss 2007 : Yves de Cornulier
2017 : Pham Van Thang 2004 : Alexandre Caboussat
2016 : Sil Swarnendu 1995 : François Margot
2015 : Shahin Tavakoli      

The Mathematics Doctoral Thesis Award 2019 is given to Hélène Ruffieux for important contributions to the statistical analysis of large-scale genomic data, in particular for constructing novel models of the dependence of multivariate responses on underlying genomic mark- ers and developing computational approaches that allow weak asso- ciations in vast datasets to be detected more reliably and much faster than with competing approaches.

Congratulations Hélène.

2019 Butcher Prize for Giacomo Rosilho de Souza (ANMC)

The John Butcher Prize in Numerical Analysis was established to recognize John Butcher’s long and productive career in numerical analysis, and in particular in the numerical solution of ordinary differential equations. He is well known in the international community for his contributions in this area. The John Butcher Prize in Numerical Analysis and the associated funds are administered by the New Zealand branch of ANZIAM.

The award is for the best student talk at the biennal International Conference on Scientific Computation and Differential Equations (SciCADE). In particular, considering both the academic merit of the content and the presentation itself.

Giacomo was awarded the prize for the paper “Multirate explicit stabilized integrators for stiff differential equations”.

Congratulations Giacomo.