Current Members


Ph.D. Students

Post-Doctoral Researchers

M.Sc. Students


Ph.D. Graduates




Carnegie Mellon University



Visiting Ph.D. Students

  • Sadegh Nobari, 2012 (National University of Singapore)
  • Stratos Idreos, 2010 (CWI)
  • Laurynas Biveinis, 2010 (Aalborg University)

Master Students


  • Konstantinos Tsitsimpikos, “Maximizing resource utilization through data-source aware scheduling in modern clusters”, 2019
  • Junge Bao, “Adaptive Compression Optimization for Effective Pruning in SAP HANA”, 2018
  • Moritz Fabian Raho, “Analysis of work placement strategies for NUMA aware distributed execution with RDMA support” 2018
  • Daniel Marques Forte, “Database Version Control System for Enterprises”, 2017.
  • Maximilian X. Czerny, “Parallel Bulk-Loading and Structural Changes for the PH-Tree”, 2016
  • Fabien Schmitt, “Brain ExpO: and iPad application for interactive exploration of spatial brain data”, 2015
  • Ruslan Taran, “Machine Learning for Data Risk Management”, 2015
  • Ioannis Kostis, “Analytical Performance Modelling of Join Operations in a Column Store”, 2014
  • Florian Laurent, “Visualization of operational monitoring data for the ATLAS experiment”, 2014
  • Trupti Gaikwad, “Storage techniques for analytical processing in RAMCloud”, 2013
  • Mouna Mahouachi, “Systematic Database Sizing in Database Cloud”, 2013
  • Matthaios Alexandros Olma, “Efficient in-memory multilayer grid spatial index for range queries”, 2013.
  • Oana-Maria Vasilescu, “NoSQL Graph-Based Implementation of a Records Management Software Solution”, 2013
  • Andrei Marian Dan, “High-performance Solid-state Memory Management Functions for Enterprise Storage Systems”, 2012
  • Mark Brightwell, “Data acquisition statistics and filtering mechanisms for technical infrastructure monitoring”, 2009
  • Joël Israël: “Critical Analysis of softwares and databases used in mouse research”, 2008

Carnegie Mellon University

  • Naju G. Mancheril, “Thread and Memory Management in Staged Database Systems”, 2004
  • Vladislav Shkapenyuk,  2004
  • Stratos Papadomanolakis, “Automated Schema Partitioning for Large Databases”, 2003

Interns/Semester Project students

2019: Naisila Puka, Eleni Zapridou, Vladimir Indic, Aleksandr Sadovnikov
2018: Parand Alizadeh Alamdari, Shahnur Isgandarli, Anisa Llaveshi, Konstantinos Koukas, Jovan Dukic, Maria Ilina
2017: Doruk Cetin, Azqa Nadeem, Seyed Shahabeddin Mousavi
2016: James Jia, Antonis Anagnostou, Doruk Cetin, Viktor Sanca, Maximilian Czerny, Panagiotis Sioulas
2015: Chenxi Sun, Arnold Lacko, Alejandro José Naser Pastoriza, Adam Dziedzic, Yu Tang               
2013: Deniz Tanelli
2012: Alexandros Stougiannis, Farzaneh Mahdisoltani
2011: Chinh Nguyen Quoc, Nastaran Nikoarti
2010: Dimitris Karampinas, Teodor Macicas, Anca-Elena  Alexandrescu      
2009: Cristina Maier


Visiting Professors

  • Rakesh Agrawal, 2017, Data Insights Laboratory, USA
  • Susan Davidson, 2014, University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • Andreas Moshovos, 2011, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Alkis Polyzotis, 2010, University of California, Santa Cruz, USA