Head of Laboratory

Johan Auwerx, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale in Lausanne, Switzerland

Johan Auwerx is Professor at the École Polytechnique Fédérale in Lausanne, Switzerland, where he directs the Laboratory for Integrated and Systems Physiology (LISP). Dr. Auwerx has been using molecular physiology and systems genetics to understand metabolism in health, aging and disease. Much of his work focused on understanding how diet, exercise and hormones control metabolism through changing the expression of genes by altering the activity of transcription factors and their associated cofactors. His work was instrumental for the development of agonists of nuclear receptors – a particular class of transcription factors – into drugs, which now are used to treat high blood lipid levels, fatty liver, and type 2 diabetes. Dr. Auwerx was amongst the first to recognize that transcriptional cofactors, which fine-tune the activity of transcription factors, act as energy sensors/effectors that influence metabolic homeostasis. His research validated these cofactors as novel targets to treat metabolic diseases, and spurred the clinical use of natural compounds, such as resveratrol, as modulators of these cofactor pathways.

Johan Auwerx was elected as a member of EMBO in 2003 and is the recipient of a dozen of international scientific prizes, including the Danone International Nutrition Award, the Oskar Minkowski Prize, the Morgagni Gold Medal, and the Marcel Benoist Prize. His work is highly cited by his peers with a h-factor of over 120. He is an editorial board member of several journals, including Cell Metabolism, Molecular Systems Biology, The EMBO Journal, The Journal of Cell Biology, Cell, and Science. Dr. Auwerx co-founded a handful of biotech companies, including Carex, PhytoDia, and most recently Mitobridge, and has served on several scientific advisory boards.

Dr. Auwerx received both his MD and PhD in Molecular Endocrinology at the Katholieke Universiteit in Leuven, Belgium. He was a post-doctoral research fellow in the Departments of Medicine and Genetics of the University of Washington in Seattle.

Administrative Assistant


PhD Students


Laboratory Technicians


Christel Aperlo

Roser Busca

Régis Saladin

Anne-Catherine Robert

Anne-Marie Lefebvre

Geneviève Martin

Laurence Suaud

Yvonne Anderson

Yannick Delplace

Piet Devos

Eric Raspé

Lluis Fajas

Thierry Claudel

Laurent Gelman

Hilde Sundvold

Mathilde Dubois

Stéphane Rocchi

Carole Brendel

Oronzina Botrugno

Karen Van Herck

Julia Peinado

Gordon Francis

Fréderic Picard

Viviane Egler

Céline Haby

Svetlana Morozowa

Marie-Bernard Debril

Rima El Takesh

Stine Ulven

Terrie-Ann Cock

Elisabeth Fayard

Jean-Sébastien Annicotte

Laurent Dubuquoy

Mitsuhiro Watanabe

Sander Houten

Taoufiq Harach

Carmen Argmann

Carole Mette

Sébastien Goetz

Sébastien Froehlich

Nassim Dali-Youcef

Agnès Coste

David Volle

Romain Barnouin

Benjamin Magnier

Raj Dugavathi

Sami Heikkinnen

Hiroyuki Sato

Marie Lagouge

Charles Thomas

Jérôme Feige

Eliane Pierrel

Raffaele Teperino

Marie-Laure Denereaz

Chikage Mataki

Lilia Noriega

Ellen Jeninga

Jiujiu Yu

Silvie Timmers

Pablo Fernandez-Marcos

Richardus Houtkooper

Hiroyasu Yamamoto

Amandine Moriot Signorino-Gelo

Carles Canto

Danielle Brandalise

Maaike Oosterveer

Geraldine Canny

Sooraj Ratnakumar

Adriano Maida

Dennis Dahlmans

Thijs Pols

Jef Verbeek

Julien Zaldivar

Christophe Nell

Mitsunori Nomura

Tarik Ouhmad

Carolina Hagberg

Pénélope Andreux

Young-Suk Jo

Eija Pirinen

Laia Morato

Tiffany Amariuta

Seiko Ishida

Giuseppe Lo Sasso

Eduardo Rochete Ropelle

Amandine Nicolet

Sophie Rivara

Evan Williams

Keir Menzies

Sophie You

Dongryeol Ryu

Tao Lin

Karim Gariani

Virginija Jovaisaite

Pedro Moral Quiros

Olli Matilainen Juhani

Hongbo Zhang

Virginie Peter

Gopal Krishnamani

Solene Rietsch

Lisa Vrijens

Naveed Ziari

Jun Yong Kim

Leo Diserens

Laurent Mouchiroud

Xu Wang

Pooja Jha

Vincenzo Sorrentino

Davide D’Amico

Dohyun Park

Changmyung Oh

Kevin Hof

Elena Katsyuba

Hao Li

Mario Romani

Alexis Bachmann

Adrienne Mottis

Arwen Gao

Alexis Rapin

Ludger Goeminne

Terytty Li

Rimjhim Roy Choudhury

Martin Wohlwend

Alessia De Masi