Recent Awards


Professor Adrian M. Ionescu was awarded the title of Doctor Honoris Causa from the Politehnica University of Bucharest, Romania. The honorary degree is a distinction offered by a university to a personality who has made his or her mark in a particular field.


Professor Adrian M. Ionescu was awarded the prestigious IEEE Cledo Brunetti award for leadership and contributions to the field of energy-efficient steep slope devices and technologies.


Sadegh Kamaei received the EPFL Microsystems & Microelectronics Doctoral Program 2023 Thesis Distinction for his dissertation titled “Energy-Efficient Electronic Functions through the Co-integration of 2D and Ferroelectric Materials.


Ali Saeidi was awarded the 2017 Electron Devices Society George E. Smith Award at the IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM) held in San Francisco, USA in December  2018, for his work “Negative Capacitance as Performance Booster for Tunnel FETs and MOSFETs: An Experimental Study” .


Emanuele Casu was awarded the Best Student Paper Award at the 47th European Solid-State Device Research Conference ESSDERC2017 held in Leuven, Belgium in September  2017, for his work “Shunt capacitive switches based on VO2 metal insulator transition for RF phase shifter applications” presented during the conference.


Professor Adrian Ionescu was awarded the status of IEEE fellow on 1st January 2016, for contributions to the development of novel devices for low power application.


Professor Adrian Ionescu was a recipent of the 2013 IBM Faculty award, in the field of engineering.


Sara Rigante was awarded the Best Paper Award at ULIS 2013 held in Warwick, UK in March 2013. This award is a recognition based on her work presented at ULIS 2013 titled: “High-k dielectric FinFETs towards Sensing Integrated Circuits“.
This work has been funded by the Swiss national program Nano-Tera within the project “NanowireSensor” (Ref. 611_61).


Giovanni Antonio Salvatore received the Prix ABB award for the 2012-2013 academic year for his thesis titled “Ferroelectric Field Effect Transistor for Memory and Switch Applications”. This award is in recognition of his research showing that by experimentally incorporating a ferroelectric layer in the gate stack of a MOS transistor the sub theshold slope can be less than 60 mV/decade and also validating it theoritically .


Luca De Michielis received the IBM PhD Fellowship awards program for the 2011-2012 academic year.
The IBM Ph.D. Fellowship Awards Program is an intensely competitive worldwide program, which honors exceptional Ph.D. students who have an interest in solving problems that are important to IBM and fundamental to innovation in many academic disciplines and areas of study.


Kathy Boucart was awarded for the second time the ESSDERC 2010 Young Scientist Award, in Sevilla, Spain. This award is a recognition based on her work presented at ESSDERC 2009, in Athens Greece, on all-silicon Tunnel FETs.


Professor Adrian Ionescu received the 2009 André Blondel Medal of Société des Electriciens et des Electroniciens (SEE), France, for exeptional scientific contributions to electrical engineering.


Vincent Pott received the Dr Dimitris N. Chorafas Award for his thesis entitled “Gate-all-around silicon nanowires for hybrid single electron transistor/CMOS applications” (EPFL thesis #3983, 2008), in the category “advanced technologies”.The prestigious prize was handed over to him during 2008 EPFL “Academic Day” by Professor Giorgio Margaritondo, EPFL Vice-President for Education.


Yogesh Singh Chauhan et al. received an “Honorable Mention Award” for the paper ”Compact Modeling of Suspended Gate FET”, 21th International Conference on VLSI Design, VLSI 2008, Hyderabad, India, 4-8 Jan. 2008.


Kathy Boucart was awarded the ESSDERC 2007 Young Scientist Award, in Munich, Germany. This award is a recognition based on her work presented at ESSDERC 2006, in Montreux CH. Title: “Double gate tunnel FET with ultrathin silicon body and high-k dielectric”.


Christoph Eggimann received the Omega Foundation Award, for his Master work. He was a visiting scholar at Stanford University from March 2007 to June 2007. While in the USA, he focused on NEMS device modeling and fabrication.