Group retreat at Lac Bleu d’Arolla, June 2023
Associate professor
PhD, Physics, CEA Saclay, 2006
Administrative assistant
Administrative assistant
Scientist (SNF Ambizione grant)
PhD, Mechanical Engineering, TU Eindhoven, 2016
PhD, Physics, Edinburgh University, 2020
PhD, Physics, LPTMS Université Paris-Saclay, 2020
Office: BSP528
PhD student
MSc, Physics, Università degli Studi di Padova, 2020
PhD student
MSc, Physics, SISSA, Politecnico di Torino, and Sorbonne Université, 2020

Former group members

Project students

  • Bastien Göransson, now PhD student at University of Helsinki
  • Jonas Paccolat, now PhD student in SBER at EPFL
  • Valentin Druelle, now PhD student in Neher’s lab at Biozentrum Basel
  • Solange Flatt, now PhD student in LSB at EPFL

PhD students

  • Leonardo Petrini, now associate researcher at Capital Fund Management (CFM)
  • Mario Geiger, now senior research scientist at NVIDIA

  • Wencheng Ji, now post-doc at Weizmann Institute and Harvard University

  • Riccardo Ravasio, now post-doc at University of Chicago

  • Jie Lin, now assistant professor at Peking University

  • Le Yan, now senior software engineer at Google, Mountain View, California


  • Elisabeth Agoritsas, now senior research associate at the Department of Quantum Matter Physics, University of Geneva
  • Marko Popović, now group leader at the Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden
  • Stefano Spigler, now Software Engineer, Machine Learning at Google, Zurich
  • Levent Sagun, now research scientist at Facebook AI, Paris
  • Barbara Bravi, now lecturer in Biomathematics at Imperial College London
  • Eric DeGiuli, now assistant professor in Complexity Physics at Ryerson University, Toronto, Canada
  • Edan Lerner, now assistant professor at the Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of Amsterdam
  • Gustavo Düring, now assistant professor at the Instituto de Física, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile