Composition of the Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee consists of representatives of both EPFL and ZEISS.

Dr Christoph Hauger Prof. Yves Bellouard
Dr Michael Kempe (Chairman) Prof. Babak Falsafi
Dr Michael Totzeck Prof. Negar Kiyavash
Ralf Wolleschensky Dr. Robert Giezendanner-Thoben 


Role of the Scientific Committee

  • Launch the Call for Proposals, typically once a year.
  • Evaluate, suggest changes to and select the projects to be funded by ZEISS.
  • Define the appropriate type of contract in accordance with ZEISS and EPFL laboratory/ies and TTO.
  • Follow-up the research results and advice for potential continuation.
  • Organize workshops related to the calls and projects at least once a year.
  • Award the ZEISS price for the best EPFL PhD/master thesis.
  • Explore, suggest, initiate and coordinate other formats of engagement between EPFL and ZEISS.


Vice Presidency for Innovation

EPFL Innovation Park, Building J

CH – 1015 Lausanne

[email protected]