Lopez-Loreta Prize

Available funding

The Lopez-Loreta Prize awards EUR 1 million to top graduates (Master or PhD graduates) from four prestigious Swiss and French higher education institutions – EPFL, ETH Zurich, the École polytechnique in Palaiseau, and the ISAE-SUPAERO in Toulouse. This award is intended to allow selected candidates to carry out their own exceptional scientific or entrepreneurial project over a five-year period.




This is an invitation-only call for proposals. The Research Offices contacts the eligible applicants, who are identified based on criteria established by the Associate Vice Presidency for Education and the Associate Vice Presidency for Postgraduate Education. The pre-application files submitted by eligible candidates are evaluated by the EPFL Awards Commission, while the full applications are subsequently evaluated by the Scientific Committee of the Fondation Jean-Jacques et Felicia Lopez-Loreta pour l’excellence académique.



Previous EPFL laureates

2023 Naïg Chenais

2022 Josefine Tratwal

2021  Margaux Duchamp

2020  Hélène Ruffieux

2019   Marco Mondelli