EPFL Award for Best Teaching

Tanja Käser

Read the article

Tenure track assistant professor at the School of Computer and Communication Sciences, Tanja Käser joined EPFL in the middle of the Covid-19 pandemic. Three years on, she’s teaching a class of 600 students and is the recipient of the 2023 Credit Suisse Award for Best Teaching.

The EPFL Award for Best Teaching recognizes excellence in teaching at EPFL. Introduced in 2024 and funded by the School, this award follows on from the Credit Suisse Award for Best Teaching, funded by the Credit Suisse Foundation until 2023.

The selection criteria for this award include innovative aspects of teaching, its impact on improving students’ skills and on courses offered at EPFL. Each section can nominate a teacher or an education team to the selection committee. Candidates must be winners of the section award for best teaching in the current year (or previous year under certain conditions).

The prize consists of an honorary certificate and an indivisible amount of 10,000 francs paid to the unit to which the winner belongs. Entries are selected in the spring. Applications should be sent to Isabelle Cahour.