Doctoral School 15th anniversary

The EPFL Doctoral School celebrated its 15th anniversary on July 4!

The EPFL Doctoral School, launched in 2003, now counts 21 multidisciplinary programs and over 5,500 alumni worldwide.

The EPFL President, the Vice-Presidents for Research and for Education and the representatives of the Doctoral School would like to thank you warmly for your participation to this 15th anniversary.

We were happy to be able to meet you during this day of exchanges and sharing, and hope that the event was up to your expectations.

We would like to thank in particular our speakers who responded to our invitation despite a very busy schedule. Their interventions were enormously appreciated by the audience and contributed greatly to the success of this event.

Below are the presentations:

Symposium on PhD supervision

9:00am  – Opening by Pierre Vandergheynst, Vice-President for Education, EPFL

9:10am  – Lecture by Philip John Binning, Senior Vice-President, Dean of Graduate Studies and International Affairs, DTU: “Supervising a three year PhD: Reflections on the DTU implementation of the Bologna EU PHD”

10:10am – Coffe break at “Le Giacometti

10:40am – Lecture by Liezel Frick, Director of the Centre for Higher and Adult Education, Stellenbosch University: “Towards innovation: Pedagogical perspectives on developing creativity in doctoral education”

11:40am – Lecture by Pierre Vandergheynst, VPE: “EPFL Doctoral School: Future developments”

Doctoral School 15th anniversary celebration

12:20pm – Opening by Pierre Vandergheynst, EPFL Vice-President for Education & Andreas Mortensen, EPFL Vice-President for Research

12:30pm – Lecture by Carl Wieman, Professor, Stanford University, Nobel Prize winner in physics: “Taking a Scientific Approach to Science and Engineering Education” (abstract)

1:30-3:00pm – Closing aperitif at SV Hall

Date: July 4th, 2019

Venue: EPFL, Room SG 1138

Event upon registration

Prof. Pierre Vandergheynst

Vice-President for Education


Prof. Philipp John Binning

Senior Vice-President, Dean of Graduate Studies and International Affairs

DTU, Technical University of Denmark

Prof. B. Liezel Frick

Director of Centre for Higher and Adult Education

Stellenbosch University, South Africa

Prof. Andreas Mortensen

Vice-President for Research


Prof. Carl Wieman

Nobel Prize winner in physics for his work on Bose-Einstein condensates (2001), physics professor

Stanford University, USA

Need more information? Get in touch with us: [email protected]