Program’s accreditation

Since 1998, the master programs (curricula) of the EPFL have been regularly accredited by the French Commission des titres d’ingénieur (CTI). 

In 2014, the AAQ and the CTI developed a joint accreditation framework. Seventeen EPFL programs have been accredited by the French government and have been awarded the EUR-ACE label until August 2022:

  • Civil engineering (ENAC-GC)
  • Environmental sciences and engineering (ENAC-SIE)
  • Computer science (IC-IN)
  • Communication systems (IN-SC)
  • Electrical and electronic engineering (STI-EL)
  • Mechanical engineering (STI-GM)
  • Microengineering (STI-MT)
  • Materials science and engineering (STI-MX)
  • Energy management and Sustainability (MES*)
  • Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology (SB–CGC-ING)
  • Applied Mathematics (SB-MA)
  • Computational Science and Engineering (SB-MA-CO)
  • Applied Physics (SB-PHY-ING)
  • Bioengineering (SV-B*)
  • Life Sciences and Technology (SV-STV*)
  • Financial Engineering (CDM-IF)
  • Management, Technology and Entrepreneurship (CDM-MTE)

In 2022, the accreditation of fourteen programs will be renewed (with the exception of those marked *). In addition, five new programs will also be accredited for the first time.

  • Data Science (IC-SC-DS)
  • Energy Science and Technology (STI-EL-ENERG)
  • Robotics (STI-MT-RO)
  • Life Sciences Engineering (SV-SV)
  • Digital Humanities (CDM-DH)

The other courses offered by the EPFL, i.e. Cybersecurity Engineer, Nuclear Engineer, and courses that do not offer engineering titles (architecture, chemistry, physics, mathematics) will carry out a self-evaluation, the details of which will be specified later.