University of Abuja

The University of Abuja was founded on January 1st 1988, and at the beginning operated from a temporary office in Wuse, Abuja.   By 1990 the University relocated to its Gwagwalada temporary site (Mini Campus) where academic activities    began immediately.    

The University was set up as a dual-mode, with the mandate to run conventional (regular degree, diploma, and postgraduate programmes) and distance learning programmes (given its location in the Federal Capital Territory.

The Mini-campus of the University has largely served the Institution from 1990, until February, 2009, when the main administration was moved to the Main-Campus where it largely operates now.

The University runs a Faculty system, and at the moment, there are 10 Faculties in the University: They are:

  • College of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Management Sciences
  • Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

 There are several other centres Institutes and other programmes.



Along Airport Road

FCT Abuja

Mail: [email protected]

Site web: