PhD Student Positions

PhD student position in astroparticle physics (EPFL)

The High Energy Physics Laboratory (LPHE, of EPFL, the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, invites applications for a PhD student position in astroparticle physics. The successful candidate will join the DAMPE and HERD collaborations, where our high-energy physics group is starting a new effort. The DArk Matter Particle Explorer (DAMPE) is a Chinese satellite mission launched in 2015, while the future High Energy cosmic-Radiation Detection facility (HERD) is planned to be onboard the Chinese space station. Both experiments aim at detecting possible dark matter signatures. The PhD thesis work will include physics analysis of the DAMPE data and detector developments towards a scintillating fibre tracker for HERD. The LPHE group is strongly involved in the LHCb experiment at CERN, for which it has developed the scintillating-fibre technology. The position, which also comprises teaching duties at Bachelor or Master level, becomes available on January 1, 2021.

The selected PhD student will need to enrol in the Physics program of the EPFL doctoral school. After one year of successful probation, the initial contract will be extended up to a total of four years. Doctoral school information and employment conditions at EPFL are described at:

Applicants must hold a Master degree (or equivalent) in Physics, or expect to hold such a degree by the start of employment. Knowledge in particle physics or astrophysics is required. Experience with data analysis, computer programming and/or particle detectors is desirable. Applicants should prepare a single PDF file with the following documents in this order:

  • motivation letter,
  • CV,
  • contact information of at least two referees willing to write a reference letter.

For full consideration, applicants should send their PDF file and ask the referees to send their letters by e-mail to our secretariat ([email protected]) by October 5, 2020.

More information can be obtained from Dr C. Perrina ([email protected]) and Prof. O. Schneider ([email protected]).