Directives for the composition of the candidacy exam committee

<u>Usual composition (at least 3 members):</u>

1) President: An actual member of the EDAM <u>program</u>

<u>Commission</u> (tenured EPFL professor) must act as president & be external to the candidate's

lab.

2) Thesis director (+co-director if applicable): EPFL-accredited professor or MER (Ordinance

Art.10)

3) Examiner: EPFL faculty, external to the candidate's lab

4) Additional examiner (optional): external to the candidate's lab

The candidacy exam committee must be composed by experts who are not members of the same family. If an expert is a post-doc, she/he must be a post-doc since min. 5 years.

Only needed if the thesis director is not an EPFL-accredited professor:

Co-director: must be an EPFL-accredited professor

Other requirements/information:

- President must be impartial and not involved in project.
- EPFL-accredited professors include assistant professors.
- EPFL PhD program representative (mentor) may act simultaneously as president and codirector but should not be involved in thesis project.
- PhD program representative (mentor) typically may act as 'internal expert' if he is not nominated as president.
- All members of the committee should be entitled to direct a thesis.
- At least two committee members should not be scientific collaborators on the thesis project.
- Maximally two experts from outside EPFL are allowed (exceptions can be requested in case of interdisciplinary projects).
- Note that the size of the committee is <u>limited to five people</u> (<u>Ordonnance Art. 14</u>), except if a co-director is present! As a consequence, the PhD program representative and/or the 'expert within EPFL/ETHZ' typically take on several functions.